CCC burns First Amendment

By William R. Toler

In an earlier post, the I.R.’s Corey Friedman wrote “Sometimes…a cigar is a cigar. And sometimes, it’s the First Amendment.”

This time, it is the First Amendment.

In trying to keep in line with a tobacco-free policy, administrators at Craven Community College removed a decorated auto hood from the student center because it featured a charicature of autobody instructor Bob Hall smoking a cigar, according to the New Bern Sun Journal.

The hood was airbrushed by students of the autobody program for Hall’s drag racing car. Hall told NewsChannel 12 that the students were disappointed. “They’re hurt,” he said, “because the students that worked on it wanted to show their project.”

In a standard public relations move, college flack Sandy Wall said that while the display was a postive project for the students, “I think the depiction of a faculty member or anyone else smoking sends a message that we don’t want to send.”

The hood was cleared to go on display. Apparently the anti-smoking nazis didn’t realize what was on the hood.

A flood of support for the students has poured in on the comments section of the Sun Journal’s Web site. Most, if not all, have criticized the college for its daft move and have demanded that it be put back on display.

The Board of Trustees adopted a Tobacco-Free policy late last year in attempt to end smoking. The policy also prohibts tobacco advertising and clubs from accepting donations that promote tobacco use. Earlier this month, it amended the policy to create a designated smoking area on each campus after complaints from the community.

We at the Independent Register noticed First Amendment issues with the policy from the begining. But, this isn’t the first time the college has run afoul of free speech.

In 2004, the college halted distribution of 1000 copies of the Campus Communicator because it contained the addresses of two students involved in a fight who were arrested. The information, which was listed on the arrest report, is public record. The Communicator staff begrudgingly agreed to black out the information on every copy that was passed out.

{Disclosure: Corey Friedman, Eric Voliva and William R. Toler were student editors of the Campus Communicator}

The following year, the same newspaper staff caught hell for printing a sex advice column, “Between the Sheets”, in the March issue. This gained state and national attention. The Foundation for Individual Rights in Education even chimed in, giving CCC a yellow light rating for “threating student speech.”

13 Comments

Filed under civil rights, Education, News

13 responses to “CCC burns First Amendment

  1. Joanna

    i applaud you. this is definitely trampling all over first amendment rights.

  2. hillbilly

    Fascists.

  3. Richard

    What constitution? Do not any of you remember Bush the II when he said “I don’t care about the
    G_ddamn constitution, it’s just a piece of paper”.
    Maybe CCC thinks the same way??

  4. My Opinion

    Ok, here is my opinion and my opinion alone… I understand how people relate certain things that get banned to the constitution, what should be protecting our freedoms. Here lies the problem with me. Smoking is a personal choice and not something that is protected under the constitution. I am smoke free and personally I think that my wanting to be smoke free should be more protected than someone who wants to smoke. If a smoker could control the smoke and not have it blow in my face then fine, do as you wish, but that’s not the case. A university or business should be able to control the message they send. They are the ones that are paying for the establishment and dealing with the day-to-day operations trying to make it successful. People who do not like it should not support them and go somewhere else, bottom line! I really get upset when everyone around me thinks they not only own my personal space, but should make decisions about it also. If you do not own it then you do not get a vote in my opinion. I think of this like my house. I put up certain pictures for my family and visitors to see. I do not put up pictures about drugs because I don’t want to be associated with that. You shouldn’t be allowed to come to my house and tell me what to hang on my walls unless you are paying my bills! I think you need to spend more time trying to unite the country instead of tearing it apart with meaningless things like this.

    • Bartedous

      This is not about smoking, or even promoting smoking. It’s about displaying artwork done by students, and I’m guessing from the tone of your post that there are probably plenty of things the school would allow that would offend you a lot more than a depiction of a popular teacher smoking a cigar, which I understand is something he does on a fairly regular basis.

    • My Opinion,

      One of the biggest issues here is that the hood was “approved” to be put on display. The car has been part of college displays in the past.

      The college claims that the cigar featured in the artwork could be sending mixed messages. However, smoking is allowed in one designated area on each campus and in personal vehicles.

      It still doesn’t jive with me.

      -William

  5. Quin Larson

    Out of all the places for this to happen, it seems odd to me that it is a college campus where this is taking place. Why is it such a problem at this school? Most campuses I have been on wouldn’t let this happen. They would have been out in the streets in protest.

  6. Abdullah the Baker

    Quin: Craven’s kind of weird with stuff like that. Partly being a community college, the vast majority of students only show up for class, and leave right after. It’s extremely hard to get students involved, and usually those few that do have the time or the interest run into such a massive amount of red tape they quit getting involved.

    And part of this problem is the “Community” part of Craven Community College. If the college hypothetically (and at this point this is clearly only a hypothetical) gives the students a platform to present their ideas in an artistic or informative manner, the community’s not going to stand behind free speech either. They’re going to get offended fairly quickly, write letters to the Sun Journal, rant on the internet, and try to get people fired.

  7. Ed

    I can top this!

    A few years back, an innocent freshman – “innocent” in the way that only an honors student could be – requested my assistance with a student judicial charge. UMass was charging him with an alcohol violation — he was mortified because he didn’t drink.

    Well it seems he had a lunchbox that had a NASCAR car pictured on it, said car having the Bud logo on the hood. And for this he was facing punishment up to and including expulsion from the university.

    Did I mention that they climbed under his bed to find it???

  8. Chip

    Here is the deal…the clearance was given then taken away to display the art in question. However the Tobacco Policy unfairly attacks smokers when there are people who are walking around campus chewing tobacco and using snuff. To me that is unjust!! Just wanted to point that out!

    • Technically, according to the policy, all tobacco products as well as apparently any non-negative reference is prohibited. Unfortunately, smokeless tobacco is easier to conceal.

      -wrt

  9. Is there a store nearby that would also sell the product so I didnt have to have it shupped?

Leave a comment