Health care: Can N.C. do better?

By Nina Kilbride

I’m disappointed that the tone of the political world is:  “The health insurance reform bill is the best we are going to get, even if it sucks.  Let’s move on.”  I guess they are right – uncertainty about the future of the health insurance industry is paralyzing to the political and economic process.

I hoped for better and still do.

I hope once “health insurance reform” is a done deal, we can move on to what Americans really need:  health care.  Maybe the answer is at the state level, not federal.  I ask for ideas:  how can North Carolina lead by example in improving the health of its citizens regardless of their insurance status?

3 Comments

Filed under Health, Politics

3 responses to “Health care: Can N.C. do better?

  1. Richard

    The State of North Carolina along with the US Government can stay the Hell out of the health care business. It is not the governments business. The only thing that government can and should do is tort reform.

    • The government is not going to stay out of the business of its citizens’ health anytime in the near future. We can agree to disagree about the propriety of government involvement, but it’s here. What is a less invasive way of encouraging us to be healthy – without mandating health insurance? More sidewalks and bike lanes? Encourage corner vegetable stands?

      I think it comes down to encouraging each of us to be more self-sufficient rather than accepting what the world doles out. Consciousness that I am making a choice every moment of my life has made me much healthier.

      Thanks for the great comments, Richard! I look forward to disagreeing with you in the future. As you may guess, I think tort reform is a load of hooey.

      Nina

  2. tripplex5663

    Excellent post. I want to thank you for this informative read, I really appreciate sharing this great post. Keep up your work. Brighton MI Chiropractor Brighton MI Chiropractic

Leave a comment