School uniforms are worthless

By William R. Toler

As anyone who reads this blog knows, I am completely against school uniform policies.

Courtesy: WRAL

Courtesy: WRAL

Supporters of these stringent policies that turn all of our children into look-alike robots, purport that uniforms help keep order and children behave better.

Pat Whitford, the head football coach at Pamlico County High School once told me that he could see a difference in the attitudes of students with the policy in place.

While I respect Mr. Whitford and his opinion, I will have to respectfully disagree with him on that point.

While I was wondering the halls of the labyrinth that is Pamlico County High School today, to drop off the fee of my upcoming class reunion, I was the recipient of some rather lude comments made by students waiting for the final bell to ring.

To me, this only proves one thing: put khakis and a solid-colored polo shirt on a jerk…and he’s still a jerk.

6 Comments

Filed under Education

6 responses to “School uniforms are worthless

  1. Richard

    Uniforms: AKA Hitler/ Marx youth corp. This is only the beginning, unless “We the People” stand up for our freedom

  2. Pearlie

    Forcing our kids into a sameness one step at a time. If it doesn’t scare you, you haven’t read “Anthem” by Ayn Rand.
    Yet another reason I will homeschool any children I may have.

  3. Pingback: Some Title : Test Title

  4. Pingback: Title : Test Title

  5. Pingback: School clothing hang-ups |

  6. Pingback: School clothing hang-ups | Indie Register

Leave a comment