Obama currency causes controversy

By William R. Toler

A novelty note has raised a ruckus in the state of Washington.

Three dollar bills feauturing Democratic presidential nominee Barack Obama as a Muslim have stirred up Republicans and Democrats alike in Snohomish County.

The mock money was sold for $3 each at a Republican Party booth at the Evergreen State Fair.

Complaintants on both side of the political spectrum claim the item is a bad joke and is racist.

The bills feature Obama with  traditional Arab headgear and a camel.

Members of both parties feel that the funny money is offensive and racist by depicting Obama as a Muslim, even though he is Christian.

The head of the county’s local Republican Party later apologized for the bills.

Why? I don’t think anyone should apologize. It was a joke. A bad joke, maybe. But a joke nonetheless.

Some think it was offensive…I think it was friggin’ hilarious. I actually have a three dollar bill featuring Bill Clinton.

When you take public office, you open yourself to parody by the public.  Deal with it.

4 Comments

Filed under News, Politics

4 responses to “Obama currency causes controversy

  1. CodyAnne

    What’s great is that both Dems and Republicans are featured on these bills, from multiple eras of politicism. And I’m pretty sure that lady was lying when she said she’d be offended if it were McCain.

  2. Leah

    Is your Bill Clinton dressed like an Arab? In and of itself there is nothing wrong with being an Arab. However, featuring President Elect Obama as one in the context of his candidacy is certainly not just a bad joke.

  3. Rucks

    When you take public office, you open yourself to parody by the public. Deal with it.- Amen to that.

  4. I’ve been investing for around 5 years now and I am continuously looking for helpful sites and posts. This one truly rings a bell with me and I’m leaning toward reproducing it on my personal blog. Would you mind if I do?

Leave a comment